The Student Room Group

Sixth form subject help

Hi I'm in year 11 at the moment. Since I go to a crap school and I want to leave it for sixth form, I have to start deciding which subjects I want to study, to apply to other schools. I'm interested in marketing/ advertising and would love to take subjects that could help me. I'm thinking about taking
-Maths
-Economics
-History
-Sociology
Are these good subjects?? I'm really worried that Economics and Sociology is on the so-called "Black lists " for the good unis.
Also are their any other subjects I should consider taking instead?? I think Journalism sounds interesting as well, but I'm not very good at English literature, my predicted GCSE grade is a high C or a low B, even though I heard its important to take at A levels. If I change my mind and decide to go to Journalism, would these subjects not be suitable for it?? Thanks for reading.
Economics is very respected though it's not a facilitating subject (Cambridge 'Trinity college' listed it in with the likes of English Literature). One softer subject like Sociology is fine. I would worry more about whether or not you can get the top grades on the harder subjects you picked. No use in picking subjects like 'Maths' and 'History' if you're going to come out with low tier grades.
Yeah they are good subject :wink: does your school offer a business studies course? As I would advise to take maths, economics, business and English lang lit as if you work really hard you can do well :wink: but what do I know I am just another new year 11 in your position ha :wink:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
Hey thanks for answering:wink:
Maths is my best subject, though I'm not keen on it (Which is why I don't want to take Further Maths if possible haha). I'm predicted A* and studying Additional Maths with three other guys while others are doing normal Maths. Still, I know GCSE and A levels are very different and I will work hard. History is alright, predicted B or A, but I love it.