The Student Room Group

Regular volunteering/DofE

Okay, so I've just started college and I was ready to sign up to do my DofE but I didn't realise how much it would cost... I don't have the money so it doesn't look like I will be able to sign up right now :/ maybe next year...

Anyways, I am still interested in volunteering as I am only at college Monday and Tuesday (I will have placement Thursday and Friday from November) so I was thinking if I could find somewhere to volunteer then I could do this on Wednesdays :smile:

I am studying childcare and I am interested in finding somewhere I could volunteer with children. Does anyone have any ideas?

Also, do universities and employers value regular volunteering as much as having the DofE award??
Reply 1
I've just done Silver DofE however I couldn't afford this but when I spoke to my leader they gave me financial assistance. Could you mention it to them?

You could volunteer at a preschool/school, maybe brownies/rainbows in the evening, a children's hospice or ward at the hospital?
Reply 2
Hey, I want to be a primary school teacher and have a deferred Uni offer for education with French - I'm on a gap year and am working as a teaching assistant in a school, and I volunteer at a Cub Scout group and my Church Sunday school if that helps! Some primary schools take volunteers to listen to children read - maybe you could look into that? I didn't do DofE and got into my first choice Uni so it's definitely not essential :smile: good luck!
Reply 3
Original post by Mariee16
I've just done Silver DofE however I couldn't afford this but when I spoke to my leader they gave me financial assistance. Could you mention it to them?

You could volunteer at a preschool/school, maybe brownies/rainbows in the evening, a children's hospice or ward at the hospital?

It's all the residential equipment that I won't be able to afford though.. :frown:
Original post by LillyLisaa