The Student Room Group

I just don't know

I'm writing this after 3 hours of crying my eyes out. I'm so lost and I have no idea what to do.

Basically, I've always been very academically driven, loved school, the idea of it was brilliant. Until my first GCSE maths exam in year ten. I felt good about it but my result came back as an F. This continued to year eleven after several resits and with the same F year after year.
That same year, my mother developed leukemia which meant added stress on me and my family.

I reached sixth form and I'm studying Creative Media Diploma and an Extended AS project and I'm so good at it. i get top marks in everything I hand in. I took an exam to retake my maths in year 12 and came back with the same results as I always get.

I'm now two weeks into year 13 with my next maths exam in June 2015 and I'm so scared. We're starting personal statements and ucas forms and I just keep comparing myself to others. "They have a C in maths"
"She's applying to do medicine."

I have no clue what to do. I might have a feeling that I have numerical dyslexia but I have no idea how to prove it and if I told anyone I had it I feel like they'd laugh at me right in my face.

Every time I walk into my sixth form my heart gets a little heavier everyday just knowing that I might not amount to anything. My self esteem is as low as it can be right now and I can't remember a day when I haven't cried.

I don't know if anyone even has an answer, let alone will reply, but this is just spontaneous and I feel like I should do this.

Thank you for reading this
Doesnt your school have student learning support? Also, with maths, you should try to get a lot of help from different people even if you think you know the topic as they might help you figure out a new way of doing things. Have you consider ed getting tutored for gcse maths? You could improve your grade significantly.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2