The Student Room Group

2nd year student living with freshers.

Hey,

Here is abit of my background. I am 21 years old. I studied at Bham University before. Due to personal and family issues, I didn't get the grade I felt I could, thus not being able to graduate. BUT, I didn't just give up then. I certainly want to gain a degree and therefore, got a place at Newcastle Uni (starting at second year though). I managed to get accommodation in halls at the very last minute.

Now, its been 2 days living with my new flatmates. I have told some of them about my age and which year I will be going into (didn't tell about personal concerns ofc). ANND 1 or 2 of my flatmates had a slightly negative response. They didn't comment but I could sense the vibe. Having gone through this, I decided not to tell other people within my block.

I am worried of perhaps being discriminated. I feel like I have nothing to say if they do say something about how I am 'different' compared to them. Would love to get any advice regarding my situation. Any help would be highly appreciated.
Are you sure they reacted negatively? Maybe you feel different and you were projecting. I don't know why they would care.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Why should they care if you're a second year? I have foundation year students living next door and they always come over. We don't judge them for their year.
Reply 3
Well I am not sure on what their opinion is as they haven't said anything. But as a flat, it doesn't feel like we are bonding 'well'. Like yes I have recently gone on nights out with them and other people in the block. However, we tend to just split out, hanging with other people in other flats (My thoughts: they are just trying to get know as many people as possible??) I feel like being a mature (I would assume myself to be?) student would make everyone feel.... like that I don't belong.

@ JulietheCat: I sort of felt I was judged on BOTH my age and year.
Reply 4