The Student Room Group

Not sure whether to Bulk or cut?! Skinny fat!

Hi guys, I'm kind of stuck on what to do.

I'm very very new to weightlifting, I have had a few months of inconsistent experience at the gym. I have not lifted consistently for more than 3 weeks (3 times a week). I go months inbetween any kind of lifting and decided I need to pull my finger out.

My goals are; having an aesthetic body, and having a good amount of strength. I'm 21, just 6ft, and weigh 87kg.

My issue is that I have not much muscle at all, but quite a bad beer belly. I have no muscle on my upper body at all. My (visual) fat distribution seems to be entirely situated around my belly. It looks like a beer belly. I'm starting to notice slight love handles as well. I'm skinny fat. If I breath in, I can see slight ab definition.

My problem is, is that if I cut, I lose fat and strength, but I don't have much muscle underneath the fat.

If I bulk, I'll just exacerbate my skinnyfat-ness and beer belly.

I'm looking at beginner programs like starting strength or jason blaha 5x5 (I want a bit more isolation work)

My lifts atm are 1x120kg Squat or 5x5 of 100kg
1x170kg or 5x140kg Deadlift
60kg x 3 Bench (I haven't done a one rep max)
5x3 of 42.5kg Overhead Press
5x5 of 60kg Pendlay row
3 chin ups at a push

What do I do?!
Reply 1
If you have a proper belly and want abs then I'd say cut, just don't rush it. If you are quite new to training then you'll have an easier time at least maintining strength than those who have been training longer, you might even get stronger because your body isn't yet very efficient at the movements.

I think aiming for loosing fat and gaining muscle is too difficult for most people so you end up getting nowhere. If you bulk then I think the longer cut at the end will feel worse than doing two smaller ones and you won't feel as good about your progress if it's hidden under fat.