The Student Room Group

Ruined all my friendships at uni.

Hey all;

I went to uni for 4 years and now I have been working for 2 years and I am beginning to realise what a mess of my social life I made.

I started uni with my first girlfriend and over the 2 years we made the same group of friends, but after that we broke up and I never really got to see that group of friends all that much, I wasn't even invited to there wedding. :frown:

At the end of 2nd year I had sort of formed another group of friends 'the lads'. These guys I treated fairly badly as I'd go out with them and just abandon them in a pursuit of girls....We used to go to the BOGOF international night and I'd try to chat up all the Chinese girls to make my ex girlfriend jealous...I completely neglected 'the lads' while doing this...eventually they got a house in 3rd year and I was the only one left out.

3rd and 4th year I met a new group of friends and a new girlfriend. I didn't really treat the girlfriend very well and I think on the quite the group of friends I was in disliked me, especially her male best mate who I was convinced just got friendzoned. After uni me and this girl aka 'the one' broke up and I was effectively shunned from this 3rd group of friends too.

I really wish I could have another crack at uni but I know I'll never have another go. :frown:

Any one had a similar experience?
Reply 1

jerk?

sorry but sounds like you deserved it
Reply 2
You're still young, go out and make new friends or make good friends at work..

Try and be more likeable towards any new friends or the outcome will be the same as your old ones.
Reply 3
I probably deserve it. But then again is it my fault that I am a narcissist depressed & socially inept? Maybe if I was a different person with different experiences I would have handled things better?

I don't know but it seems that there is nothing I can do about it now.

-Things really haven't changed at work, my colleagues aren't my friends outside of work.