The Student Room Group

Medication for public speaking anxiety...?

I am in my last year of uni and have to give several important presentations this year. However, I have a severe public speaking anxiety and I almost have panic attacks giving presentations. Even when we are just asked to say our name in front of a class, I get nervous, never mind going up to talk. I have tried all of the common sense things like breathing exercises etc. but nothing helps. I was wondering if it would be worth going to my GP to ask if I can get propanolol (a beta-blocker) and if this would work well or if it has side effects? Thanks
I'm not an expert in anxiety but I did used to have the worst stage fright ever (even though that doesn't compare)...

What's troubling you?
I would advise against it, simply because there are so many other options open.

I know you said you've tried breathing stuff, but when I first started in plays we were taught loads of little tricks to keep us calm. Have you tried wearing thermals? Being warm is the simplest way of making your voice not get that adrenaline warble. Even drinking hot water right before speaking would help.

Alternatively, why not just make a video for the presentation? Download some free software or use Vegas at uni computers. Show a load of really simple pictures, speak over the video into a microphone so that its all predecorded, stick it on youtube somewhere and tadah! Easy grade.
Reply 3
Original post by TheFailingNerd
I'm not an expert in anxiety but I did used to have the worst stage fright ever (even though that doesn't compare)...

What's troubling you?