The Student Room Group
On campus at the University of Southampton
University of Southampton
Southampton
Visit website
Reply 1
hmm havnt thought about a kettle, hopefully therell be boiling water on tap.......anyone (chancellor, selborn)?
On campus at the University of Southampton
University of Southampton
Southampton
Visit website
Reply 2
I was going to.. and a toaster. But then supposedly you end up with 12 kettles and toasters in ur kitchen.. SO i dunno...
I'm not very good at the whole asking people to borrow their things, I feel rude. So i may end up getting a cheap toaster etc
Reply 3
Kateykate
I was going to.. and a toaster. But then supposedly you end up with 12 kettles and toasters in ur kitchen.. SO i dunno...
I'm not very good at the whole asking people to borrow their things, I feel rude. So i may end up getting a cheap toaster etc

Yeah - lots of people will be bringing toasters and kettles. I feel the same way about borrowing things like that, so I bought a couple of el-cheapo appliances from Tesco. :smile:

I'm pretty sure all of my flatmates brought a toaster and kettle (and they were all 3rd year students). I ended up keeping my toaster in a box in my room all year, but I kept the kettle in my room. :smile: We used one toaster between everyone, but I didn't like the look of all the limescale on the kettle in the kitchen...
Reply 4
i supplied the toaster to a floor of 20ish last time, and never got it back, this year its someone elses job.
Reply 5
My mum has given me a really small kettle - i think we used it on holiday a few years ago. It can probably only boil 2 cups of water at a time so it's perfect for personal use.
I've been wondering about the toaster thing and i too would feel weird asking to use other people's. So i'll prob get a small cheap one soon.
Reply 6
I might be bringing a kettle just cos we have a brand new spare one lying round the house. and if i get there and already theres 5 in the kitchen i'l sned it home with my parents!