The Student Room Group

How to introduce yourself in 20 seconds making you stand out

I have an assessment centre and know that we will be starting with everyone introducing themselves. Now, I'd usually go like

"Hi, my name is John and I studied Chemical Engineering at the University of Nottingham and only just graduated in July this year"

How can I elaborate on this slightly? The above statement would only take me around 7 sconds to say and I think a slightly longer (20 second) introduction would make an overall more positive impression. Opinions?

There are expected to be around 10-15 of us at the centre.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Is there anything about you that would make others say "Really? Tell us more!"
Reply 2
Original post by Simes
Is there anything about you that would make others say "Really? Tell us more!"

It's hard to say what others would see as unique in me. I personally think some of the things that distinguish me from others are:

* Memorised Pi to 100 digits
* Fluent in 4 Languages with conversational knowledge of a 5th
* Can touch-type at 90+ wpm
* Memorised all capital cities of the world and all US presidents [and a whole load of other stuff]

Not really sure if it would be appropriate to talk about any of these though. I mean the last thing I want is to come across as a show off unless they ask specifically to state 1 special thing about yourself.
Reply 3
"Bonjour, Ciao, Buenos días, hi. Ich heisse John and I studied Chemical Engineering at the University of Nottingham and I graduated in July. I have a remarkable memory."

Someone will immediately ask about the memory, say back to them "Name a country" and tell them the capital. Say to another person: "Name another country" and tell them the capital of that country. If they haven't twigged what you're doing, do it a third time. Then sit down.

How's that for memorable?

I saw a stand-up comic do that stunt a couple of years ago: very impressive.

(Mark Thomas? My memory is rubbish.)