The Student Room Group

Aerospace Engineering 2015 Applicants

I'm currently studying physics, maths, chemistry and AS further maths. Predicted AA*AA respectively.

Have applied to Sheffield, Leeds, Bristol, Bath and Hertfordshire (insurance).

What about all you others out there?

Posted from TSR Mobile

Scroll to see replies

I'm studying A-Level Maths, Further maths and physics. Predicted A*A*A. I'm applying to Bath,Bristol,Southampton, Manchester and I'm not sure of the last one. Did you get any work experience?

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
I haven't managed to find any work experience around where I live(north east), have you? The only thing other than the grades that I have is an aero based EPQ.

Posted from TSR Mobile
not really. My EPQ is based on aero as well. I did some 6 weeks work placement but that has nothing to do with aerospace, just general engineering

Posted from TSR Mobile
Don't worry about work experience for aerospace specifically since it is very hard to find. I didn't do any Aerospace or any engineering work experience (or any engineering at school for that matter) and i got in fine. Concentrate on getting the transferable skills that are needed and of course, those all important grades.

FYI, be prepared for some long days and i would also recommend avoiding going for catered accommodation when you do apply for accommodation. I was placed in catered and it is a right pain having to get back from Uni after a 5pm lecture (so finish at 6pm), and get back in time (Uni is 30min walk away) before the main catered diner closes at 7pm.
Reply 5
Thanks for the heads up. Which university did/do you go to?
Original post by peterglass
Thanks for the heads up. Which university did/do you go to?