The Student Room Group

Friends getting excited around opposite sex members

I'm new at university and I noticed that my new "uni-buddies" (folks who follow me most of the time - thus, likely to be my future friends?) start chuckling and getting excited whenever I speak with people of the opposite sex. (like "oh, gosh! what a chick!", "go go go go!", "oh S***!" etc.)
Some even get nervous and stop speaking.

I'd like to hear what behaviour you would adopt in such situations.

I might as well try bridging the two groups, introducing my new friends to the girl/girls; could turn out to be beneficial to all three parties.

However, as you may have already experienced it, my own "aura" might suffer if associated with my... unstrategic friends.

I could simply ignore their chuckles and proceed with the girls alone, but I don't want to let down my "new friends" either.
I already did it a few times and had to see their sad faces behind me...

If they were my old friends, I could also "instruct" them on how to behave, but hey, I know them just since a few days and don't want to appear as a gang leader (not yet, at least)...

Nice problem eh?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
First off, I love the confidence. That alone makes me think that you'll come through this "problem" pretty fine, so I wouldn't worry too much about it.

I'm not totally clear what the problem is, anyway. Are the girls hearing the giggles and stuff and this is putting them off? Or is it just that it's annoying to you?

If it's that the girls are getting put off, I wouldn't risk alienating your new friends, but rather adopt a jokey approach with the girls, like "Don't worry about them, they're on day release" or "Sorry about them, they don't get out much, I'm taking them back for warm milk and cookies soon." Something to make the girls laugh and defuse the tension, but not malicious.