The Student Room Group

Where to study atmospheric science?

I'm currently doing a bachelor degree in atmospheric science in Brazil and have no plans to transfer abroad. What places in the world are good to seek for a postgrad in atmospheric science?

My limited knowledge tells me that a lot of textbooks on atmospheric science are published by Cambridge. So Cambridge shines in atmospheric science, no?

Judging by how US is the place where tornadoes and hurricanes strike many times per year, it should be natural to think that there are leading research centers in atmospheric science as well.

No idea about Asia. But Japan, Singapoure, Taiwan, are affected by hurricanes many times per year too. Earth simulator project comes to my mind as a striking reference there. The main problem would be the language with a step learning curve.
(edited 9 years ago)
You pretty much have 4 choices, Cambridge, Edinburgh, Manchester or Leeds. At least from my preliminary google search these are the only unis that have centres for atmospheric science.

In the US, I saw that Georgia Tech popped up, they likely have a good program.

http://www.atmos.illinois.edu/careers/academic.html Great resource lists all the US and Canadian unis with atmospheric science programs.
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 2
You can opt for Cornell University, University of California, University of Oklahoma they have a very nice program.
Reply 3
When you say postgrad, are you thinking of a Masters or PhD? I am currently doing a PhD in climatology in the UK and there are quite a lot of options for PhDs. Reading, Leeds, UEA, Exeter and Manchester are the top places in the UK really. As for Masters course, I don't know whether these are offered at the universities I just listed, but that would be my starting point. It does depend on your interests. I suggest you search for meteorology rather than just atmospheric science. Reading has the best Meteorology department in the country (I did my undergraduate degree there).