The Student Room Group

1st year of uni- important?

Hi all,
I am currently studying for my IB diploma and hopefully after will get to go to university! I've been looking at the course I like and if I manage to get a 36 in my diploma (which looks achievable right now) I can apply for advanced entry to year two/four
My mother however is convinced that's maybe not a great idea as I'll miss out on making friends and such during my first year. What do you guys think? Is first year THAT important for making friends or could I manage jumping in at year two?
Nope, makes no difference. tbf you shouldn't be distracted by a social life while at uni, because at uni you're studying for a degree. So you only need to know how to speak up if you're stuck.
Start how you mean to go on :smile:
In terms of making friends, yes it will affect you since most of the people on the course will have already developed their friendship groups. Plus you'll miss a big part of uni life such as freshers fair, going out, meeting new people etc etc. Although saying that, you could join societies which will give you a good opportunity to meet new people.

On the studying side of things, first year doesn't count but whatever you learn in the year will be assumed knowledge for your second and third years so it's good to understand what you are being taught.
The first year is very important, can't sugar coat it. It'll be hard to make friends because people will have groups and it'll be hard to break into a group. But it isn't impossible
Reply 5
Okay Thank you everyone :smile:
I have a while still to consider what I'll do but thank you for all the ideas about societies etc! Also a very good point about assumed knowledge I didn't even consider that!
Original post by + polarity -
Start how you mean to go on :smile:

But also get most of the going out bull**** out of your system before the second year when grades count.