The Student Room Group

Plagiarism question for Computing course

Hello guys, please please help me.

I am studying on an Access to Computing course - our first assignment is on Networking - describing the concepts of networking compared to a stand alone computer, and benefits of it etc.

It says it has to be produced as a report. Now here is my issue. Because i havent been in education for a long time, I am totally new to the whole Harvard Ref system which is what my college adopts.

Basically to do this assignment i MUST gather many books, look at websites etc to gain the information about networking basics etc. As i cannot just write paragraphs in my own words without reading up on the topic. But when i get the information, even if i translate it into my own words (paraphrasing) i still need to reference this clearly right?

So this means every single paragraph in my report more or less will be covered in speech marks and references to it as i will be getting all the information from books etc for each part of my report??

Then surely I cant get a good mark such as a distinction?

Please get back to me

Jay
Reply 1
Well referenced stuff does look a bit weird, and it even takes a while to get to grips with reading it what with (Lennon & McCartney, 1966) popping up in the middle of sentences. The most common style just requires the surnames of the author(s) and date of publication in text, with a full description (including title and page number) in a list at the end, although you can put the page number in text as well.

For the Harvard style you shouldn't have speech marks in text for a reference, could you give me an example of how you were told to reference? Or did you mean you would be quoting a lot? That is not normally the best idea. It's better to say:
All brontosauruses are very thin at either end, but thicker in the middle (Elk, 1972).

Than