The Student Room Group

3rd week of Uni and still haven't made a single friend.

I guess I am either just not a great talker or people just aren't interesting in talking to me. Is it too early for me to start worrying?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Give it time. Not everyone is naturally quick to make friends. Or you may not have much in common with your classmates.
Reply 2
I was in a similar boat for the first week, but luckily I have one decent flatmate. I got unlucky as I have three 3rd years in my flat who already have their own social circles, but the best thing you can do is try and be more extroverted, which is hard of course if you're a bit shy.
I am quite literally the most anti-social person in the entire world, I hate most (if not all) people, and even I graduated with three friends who I'm still in touch with two years later. Honestly, if I made friends, there's hope for everyone.

Group work is a good way to start working with people, and that's bound to happen at some point. Have a look at what societies are offered by your SU and join one that interests you. Immediate conversation starter there.

But three weeks isn't really that much, so I honestly wouldn't worry.
Really and truly hope so but it is starting to get to me, in fact I'm actually losing sleep over this.
Original post by dammitjustdammit
I guess I am either just not a great talker or people just aren't interesting in talking to me. Is it too early for me to start worrying?

Definitely go join some clubs. I joined archery about this time in my first year well after the intro days. I just turned up one day. 4 years later I have friends for life from there.
I was shy when I first went to uni but luckily I found one good friend after a couple of weeks. As people are suggesting go to a club or chat to whoever you sit beside at lectures or tutorials etc. it may be nerve wrecking making that first move but it's worth it. Try not to worry too much, it will all work out okay in the end.