The Student Room Group

Teaching yourself pure mathematics

After 20 years of being a locksmith, I have decided that I want to get a university degree and I'll be starting next year! As part of my degree, I will be doing two mathematics courses - one in calculus and the other in linear algebra.

The problem? It has been two decades since I've touched any textbook, let alone a mathematics textbook! Also, I only know how to add, subtract, multiply and divide - and even that takes a while to do, yet I need to learn pure mathematics from basic arithmetic (preferably adding numbers in my head, adding fractions, finding percentages - those sort of things) to first year university calculus and linear algebra that is proof-based and rigorous.

If you were in my situation, what would your strategy be?
(edited 9 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Original post by Lockie123
Imagine you're in your early 40's and it has been two decades since you've touched any textbook, let alone a mathematics textbook and you only know how to add, subtract, multiply and divide - and even that takes a while to do, yet you need to learn pure mathematics from basic arithmetic to first year university calculus and linear algebra that is proof-based and rigorous. What would your strategy be?

You want to go from pre-GCSE maths to Uni maths? How long have you got?
Reply 2
Imagine you're in your early 40's and it has been two decades since you've touched any textbook, let alone a mathematics textbook and you only know how to add, subtract, multiply and divide - and even that takes a while to do, yet you need to learn pure mathematics from basic arithmetic to first year university calculus and linear algebra that is proof-based and rigorous. What would your strategy be?

you have not told us why you are doing this.

Are you planning a degree or a new career?
personal pleasure or personal goal?
something else?

I am in a similar but not quite as bad situation.