The Student Room Group

possible glandular fever and first day of placement?

I'm a primary ed student and due to attend my first day of placement tomorrow. I've been feeling rough for the past month and have had to take the day off lectures today and go to the doctors. He thinks I might have glandular fever and has given me a sick note until my blood test results come back on Friday.
The only thing is that I've been pushing through this for the past month fine, yeah I'm exhausted but I'm okay. And I feel absolutely awful missing out on such an important day. I've worked so hard to get onto this course and I don't want to miss out on anything at all if I can help it. I know I'm not contagious to the kids because if it is glandular fever it's only spread through saliva anyway.
Basically I'm torn about whether to go in or not. Would there be any issues with going in while under an active sick note?
Original post by hurricanesian
I'm a primary ed student and due to attend my first day of placement tomorrow. I've been feeling rough for the past month and have had to take the day off lectures today and go to the doctors. He thinks I might have glandular fever and has given me a sick note until my blood test results come back on Friday.
The only thing is that I've been pushing through this for the past month fine, yeah I'm exhausted but I'm okay. And I feel absolutely awful missing out on such an important day. I've worked so hard to get onto this course and I don't want to miss out on anything at all if I can help it. I know I'm not contagious to the kids because if it is glandular fever it's only spread through saliva anyway.
Basically I'm torn about whether to go in or not. Would there be any issues with going in while under an active sick note?

I'm aware I'm pretty late on this... but you can't go in if you've been issued a sick note.
You have to remember that if you push yourself for too long then it will eventually be made worse.