The Student Room Group

Ask boyfriend to do one thing and doesn't do it, yet no other complaints?

I'm a 2nd year student, my boyfriend has a very demanding job in london. My uni is 2-3 hours from London.

He is great in that he calls me every day, and if I call he'll get back to me very quickly. I do really enjoy phone conversations but it doesn't matter how long we speak I still crave a goodnight text afterwards. It's just one thing, it's not (in my opinion but he would argue) difficult. However, twice last week he didn't and twice this week he didn't.

He is working ridiculous long hours and is exhausted and I do feel one hand that in perspective a goodnight text shouldn't be important in the scheme of things. On the other hand, it's something that takes 5 minutes or less to do, and really doesn't require much effort. I find it so hard to get to sleep if I don't get one. I don't know why it upsets me so much but it feels like do whatever he asks in the relationship and this is the the one thing I ask and it's like he can't be arsed half the time (he argues he is just forgetful when exhausted). However, like i said does generally put in a lot of effort in every day with calling.

I pretty much threatened breaking up with him, and he retaliated that we'd be breaking him up soon as I'm making him more tired (he often works till midnight but a couple of times I've woken him up by calling him around then when I haven't received a text) . I love him and I don't want to break up but I also don't want to be in a relationship with someone who refuses to do one little thing for me. I'm finding changing to long distance really hard. So confused, opinions? Advice on how to resolve this?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Break up with him, and wait approximately 15 years until you're mature enough for a relationship.

I've heard "high maintenance" before, but dear lord.
Reply 2
My god, why is the poor lad still with you?