The Student Room Group

University work load....

I'm studying Economics & Development at a top 30 university and in first year. I literally have 100's of pages worth of reading to do every week, not to mention on the side revision and homework. I literally have no time to do anything else, and yet I'm still behind on readings. How do people manage to find a balance between social life/ leisure and uni work? It seems impossible....
(edited 9 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I think 99% of people simply don't do all the work they're set.
Reply 2
Original post by elohssa
I think 99% of people simply don't do all the work they're set.

So it's about prioritising which work/ readings to do?
Original post by Envee
I'm studying Economics & Development at a top 30 university and in first year. I literally have 100's of pages worth of reading to do every week, not to mention on the side revision and homework. I literally have no time to do anything else, and yet I'm still behind on readings. How do people manage to find a balance between social life/ leisure and uni work? It seems impossible....

Prioritise what reading you need to do. In which seminars/tutorials are you actually using/discussing the set reading? In one of my classes we don't focus on the set reading during the seminars so I give it less attention if I am pushed for time.

I don't really have a social life at the moment but that's because I'm trying to complete one of my essays which is involving a lot of research :redface:

As for leisure, I watch TV when I'm eating... It's what I do when I'm not working :P

(not a first year btw)
Reply 4
Are you maybe labouring over the reading quite a lot? Sometimes making the effort to absolutely 100% understand every paragraph as you read it can be counter-productive.