The Student Room Group

PGCE advice desperately needed!

Hi,

I have a foundation degree in Rural and Countryside Management. That's 2 years worth. Completed back in 2009; I'm 28 now.

I'd love to study a PGCE and I'm aware I need a full degree in a relevant subject.

It's really Primary teaching I'm most interested in. I was planning on completing my degree, or rather transferring what points I have to an Open University Open Degree. The credits I'm able to transfer are decent and I'd get a Honours Degree within a year and a half of studying.

But I've just heard back from University of Ulster that their PGCE Primary course won't accept an Open Degree. That was the only University available in NI as far as I'm aware, for PGCE Primary that didn't require a degree in childhood studies.

I'm currently teaching in China which makes contacting Universities a slow and frustrating process, and I am clueless as to what other direction to take now. Do the ITT courses in England accept an Open Degree? I'd prefer to study within the island of Ireland, but I'd consider Great Britain too.

Any advice? It would be much appreciated! Thanks.
Reply 1
When I was looking into training in England they certainly did accept Open degrees but it needed to be an honours degree (360 credits with 120 at level 3, I think) not an ordinary degree.

However, if you want to teach early primary (The Foundation Stage) then you will need to have studied some child development in your degree, how much I couldn't tell you.

This was a few years ago so I am unsure if they have stopped accepting Open degrees. Your best bet is to contact the Uni direct via email I guess.

Posted from TSR Mobile
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by Blou17
When I was looking into training in England they certainly did accept Open degrees but it needed to be an honours degree (360 credits with 120 at level 3, I think) not an ordinary degree.