The Student Room Group

A-levels medicine

Hey! :smile: I'm an 11th grade student in a british school in Spain. My dream is to become a doctor and I plan on applying to Cambridge, UCL and Imperial. I don't know what A-levels to take... :s-smilie:I was thinking of taking Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Maths A levels and French As level. Is it too much? What choice would be better? Is french a good contrasting subject? Help pleeeeease and thanks very much in advance :o:p
Reply 1
Original post by Miakaavanah
Hey! :smile: I'm an 11th grade student in a british school in Spain. My dream is to become a doctor and I plan on applying to Cambridge, UCL and Imperial. I don't know what A-levels to take... :s-smilie:I was thinking of taking Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Maths A levels and French As level. Is it too much? What choice would be better? Is french a good contrasting subject? Help pleeeeease and thanks very much in advance :o:p

The necessities for medicine are chemistry and ideally biology, so yes, them two. The other subject is often appreciated as physics or maths, but I don't think it matters too much as long as it's more of a traditional subject.

Imo 4 at AS (4th could be whatever you want) and 3 A2 is enough, and any more is not really worth it. It is regarded by RG Uni's that high UMS over 3 subjects > lower UMS over 4 and as medicine is a very competitive subject you want the best grades you can possibly get.
Reply 2
Original post by AdamCee
The necessities for medicine are chemistry and ideally biology, so yes, them two. The other subject is often appreciated as physics or maths, but I don't think it matters too much as long as it's more of a traditional subject.

Imo 4 at AS (4th could be whatever you want) and 3 A2 is enough, and any more is not really worth it. It is regarded by RG Uni's that high UMS over 3 subjects > lower UMS over 4 and as medicine is a very competitive subject you want the best grades you can possibly get.