The Student Room Group

Which Lift Did You Find Hardest to Master?

So since I've got nothing better to do tonight before the American football starts, I was thinking about learning the primary lifts, such as squat, deadlift, press, etc.

What lift did you find hardest to master?

For me it was the bench press. With the squat and the deadlift I looked at all the various moving parts and I was ready to learn it all. In the case of the bench, it's deceptively technical. I started out figuring that since I've done it on San Andreas with CJ you just lay on a bench and press weight away from face. It took me weeks to find out I was doing it wrong and it's actually one of the most technical lifts there is.
Reply 1
squat. only really learnt it recently, used to kill my traps and neck unless i used the pad, now i low bar and its a lot better. deadlift came so naturally and bench was just fine
I started lifting in August so I'm still pretty new, still struggling with the overhead press. I still can't press an empty bar for 5x5 and I'm thinking of going back to dumbbells and working on it a bit more. As well as this I have just taken some weight off my squat and am working on form as I felt I don't get low enough. Oh and I struggle with the deadlift because of grip.... Lol the only lift I like is the split squat.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
OHP and squat came quite naturally to me, never had to think much about my technique.
Bench I got ok quite easily then had to put a fair bit of time into having good technique but I didn't find it difficult.
Deadlits have been an endless pain in my ass because of injury but I don't find it hard to work out what's wrong and make myself fix it.
Front squats I have to work most for because of mobility which isn't actually hard, just time consuming.
Power cleans are the only thing I've found really hard, I've gave up on trying to teach myself but maybe will try again if I ever have someone to teach me.

Original post by Genocidal