The Student Room Group

What do you think of Mrs. Birling in "An Inspector Calls"?

What do you think of Mrs. Birling in "An Inspector Calls"?

You should write about:
*how she treats Eva when she comes to her for help
*how she treats her family
*what she thinks about the lower classes
*how she behaves at the end of the play
Could you remind me of the plot? I studied it at GCSE English, but that was 12 years ago now! I know she was a b**** but can't remember the ins and outs of it all
Reply 2
An Ispector Goole turns up at the Birling household with questions on a girl who has committed suicide, and who has a relation to each family member (without their knowledge) called Eva Smith. One by one, he shows the family members a picture of the girl - who used different names - and they find that they are each to blame to an extent for her death. (The father and daughter put her out of two jobs, the daughter's fiancee cheats with the girl (he does have feelings for her), the brother gets her pregnant, then steals from his father to provide for her,and the mother rejects her grant for money as head of a women's charitable organisation.) The inspector leaves, and there is a discussion about the events, with the younger generation having learnt moral lessons, and Mr and Mrs Birling refusing to accept responsibility by speculating that the whole thing may have been a hoax - being 'practical'. The daughter's fiancee (who left after his encounter with the Inspector), returns with the confirmation that the Inspector was not registered. After some discussion, they phone the infirmary to see whether Eva's body has been taken in, to which they discover it hasn't. Later, just as the parents begin to relax, the police phone about a girl that has just been brought to the infirmary with the same post-morterm as they inquired about.
Thanks, that's rung a few bells. :smile: