The Student Room Group

Teacher recruitment agencies rip off

Hi

My girlfriend is currently working as a supply teacher in London. She usually works through a couple of agencies.

She gets paid about £125/day. But I've heard the agencies charge the school about £250/day. I find this incredible how can the agency justify charging the school double? Why do schools accept this?????

She also seems to pay a ridiculous amount of tax. She's paid through an offshore umbrella company. I read somewhere online that these umbrella companies are well dodgy and make the teacher pay both the employee's NI *and* the employer's NI. They also charge a "payroll fee". All of this significantly reduces her take home pay.

I work as a temporary accountant. My agent charges a margin of 15% on top of my daily rate. I just can't believe that teaching recruitment agencies charge a 100% margin!!!

Is this normal? Why do teachers and schools accept this?

Any advice would be appreciated. My girlfriend is a great teacher and I feel that she's being exploited. She wants to work as a supply teacher as we are both over from Australia and travel a lot.
Reply 1
I contacted my agency about the umbrella company. They use an umbrella company as (apart from saving themselves a job)the company can help the teacher to offset petrol and lunch expenses again their tax. However, if you aren't earning over 10000 (i think) then there will be no tax at the end of the year anyway. I'm only very casual so I asked to go onto PAYE and my supply agency did that.