The Student Room Group

SATs? IELTS?

my school last year and some people this week have been talking about applying for different exams so that we can be eligible for uni applications...There's lots of conflicting information and in particular people told me to worry about it later but some say prepare as fast as you can because I won't have time later...

I'm only in my first year of IB, started this Sept...do I have to start taking SATs or whatever? apparently you need lots of different kinds of extra tests beside the IB itself and i'm just really confused...

(also, isn't the SAT the american equivalent for IB or a-levels? won't that be very hard and time consuming if I did both?)
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 1
Original post by LeviosaNight
my school last year and some people this week have been talking about applying for different exams so that we can be eligible for uni applications...There's lots of conflicting information and in particular people told me to worry about it later but some say prepare as fast as you can because I won't have time later...

I'm only in my first year of IB, started this Sept...do I have to start taking SATs or whatever? apparently you need lots of different kinds of extra tests beside the IB itself and i'm just really confused...

(also, isn't the SAT the american equivalent for IB or a-levels? won't that be very hard and time consuming if I did both?)

If you want to apply to the US then you'll definitely need to take the SAT I and depending on the university 2-3 SAT II subject tests. I'd recommend studying/taking these SAT exams as soon as possible so everything doesn't clash with your uni applications etc next year.