The Student Room Group

16 and still never had a boyfriend?

I'm 16 and I've never had a boyfriend - i go to an all girls school and don't even know any boys. Most of my friends are starting to get boyfriends, and are considering having sex. I just find the thought of dating awkward, let alone kissing or sex. I'm worried that if I get to uni and have absolutely no dating experience then guys are going to be put off dating me. Is this true? How many people would you guess go to uni with no experience? And guys, would you date someone who's still a complete beginner when it comes to dating at the age of 18?

Posted from TSR Mobile

Scroll to see replies

Hey, I'm 16 and never had a girlfriend so Its alright I guess. I live in London what about you?
Don't worry OP.
You're 16, you have time, enjoy the moments of life.
Dating is just.. a waste of time.
That's really a non-issue.
And possibly the 100th or so "[insert age here] and I've never had a [partner]" thread I've seen. :yawn:
I had a "boyfriend" when I was 16, but it was just a childish relationship that didn't really go anywhere. Then I had a long dry spell, and wasn't until I was 21 that I got my first proper boyfriend, so I may as well have been a beginner by then, but it never bothered my guy. A lot of people start all this dating stuff a lot later then you might think, so don't worry about it, your time will come :smile:
Probably for the best. Relationships at that age, are just not a good idea. Not all the time but most of the time they arn't. You rush into things, you date someone you think is "the one" but then they arn't and they don't feel the same way as you do. It's just messy and painfull.

So in other words, it's a blessing. I'm 18, only had one relationship and I really wish I hadnt. Take your time, don't rush. If that is the only thing that you learn from this thread, you will be fine.
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 6
You're 16 not 30.