The Student Room Group

Can a student only be as good as the teacher teaching him/her?

I think that in many cases, this is true because many students are reliant and don't do work outside of class...

I think that for those who fully utilise the resources, a [worse] teacher does not affect them as much.

What do you guys think? Should students be more proactive in their learning?
There are so many books and online resources to work from. There is no excuse (unless medical/psychological). This is specially true during college, where you should be mature enough to care about your eduction. During GCSEs, the teacher does seem to somewhat have an effect as little as it may be.
Nooo definitely not, I'm a huge advocator of being proactive in your own learning. People should not let anything stop them from getting the grades they want. I self-taught most of my GCSEs because, despite being in the top set, the class average was around grade C and that's what teaching was aimed at so I did the necessary work to bring me up to As in all of my subjects (except photography lol). At a-level you're obviously a bit more responsible for your learning so it's a bit different but at GCSE at least there is no limit to what you can acheive if you buy textbooks and revision guides and ask for help on TSR.
Original post by metrize
I think that in many cases, this is true because many students are reliant and don't do work outside of class...

I think that for those who fully utilise the resources, a [worse] teacher does not affect them as much.

Students should definitely be proactive in their learning!
Having said that, a good teacher can make your life a lot easier (and hence can take the pressure off).

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by metrize