The Student Room Group

Struggling so much, please help :(

Hi Everyone

I just really need some advice..

I'm a 20 year old girl with asperger's syndrome based in England, United Kingdom. I have been signing on for nearly 6 months... recently finally gotten a start date for a support worker job supporting adults with disabilities. It took them 3 months to sort out a start date.. and had been messing me around for ages.

Anyway, I took the job as aside from wanting to sign off, I want to be able to do some good. Problem is, I have been feeling so down lately, I have literally not had a full night's sleep in as long as I can remember, I am constantly on edge... I feel like crying all the time. And my thoughts keep drifting to those of a self harming variety. My mum suggested I could be depressed. But I am worried... I feel like I am barely keeping a lid on my emotions most days... I don't know whether or not to go to the doctors again about it? they were so iffy when I told them I had Asperger's, for 2 months they made me feel like I was on trial. So would I have to tell them I had depression? I can't afford to lose this job.... I am so scared....

I went to my G.P about it on Monday, told her how bad I had been feeling (had 4 recurring bouts of tonsilitis since this July) been feeling like hell, this year alone, had to drop out of college due to being unable to afford it, and the rest of the family's money is going on supporting my older brother who is currently at university. Told her I am struggling emotionally and physically, can't sleep. After getting the wrong end of the stick regarding sleep, she then eventually goes "well in adult life things are different once you leave college, with depression you just power through it like she does (she works part time and is off sick most of the time anyway).