The Student Room Group

Help.

Hi,

I am a first year computing student at Bournemouth University. I have fallen into a rut and I don't know what to do from here. I'll explain from the beginning to make things easier. I have social anxiety and depression, over the last two or three years this has worsened. I came to Bournemouth university after an uneventful gap year where i had little interaction with people my age due to the fact that all of my friends had gone to uni or gone travelling, and I had just moved back to the UK with my parents who had been out of the country for 22 years. So my anxiety was amplified when I came here in september.

The first week of freshers was great, I met loads of new people etc etc. However I got freshers flu at the start of the second week which then turned into a viral chest infection which had me bed bound for 2 weeks. after this I already felt like I had missed out on loads, and everyone had seemed to have formed strong friendships whilst I was busy dying in bed. Not good. in the weeks after this I went out with the group as much as possible and ended up sort of seeing a girl in the group.