The Student Room Group

Can I get funding to move away from home in my second year?

I am in my first year at uni and living at home. Some girls on my course have asked me if I would be interested in house sharing with them next year and I really want to.

Can I apply for money to move away from home next year (is it called an accommodation loan or something?) even though I was living at home in my first year? Also if I can when would I have to ask student finance?

Thanks x
Reply 1
You can apply for Student Finance for next academic year, sometime early next year. The system usually opens around February.

You can apply for a Maintenance Loan and Maintenance Grant. The Grant is entirely means-tested on your parents' income and the Maintenance Loan is partly means-tested. If you come from a high income household, you won't get any grant. Everyone gets a guaranteed minimum Maintenance Loan, even if they don't qualify for the means-tested element of it.

However, these aren't guaranteed to meet all of your living costs and your parents will be expected to make up any shortfall.

Get an estimate of your entitlement here:
https://www.gov.uk/student-finance-calculator
(edited 9 years ago)
Original post by DollyMaii.x
I am in my first year at uni and living at home. Some girls on my course have asked me if I would be interested in house sharing with them next year and I really want to.

Can I apply for money to move away from home next year (is it called an accommodation loan or something?) even though I was living at home in my first year? Also if I can when would I have to ask student finance?

Thanks x

You should have applied for the maintenance loan this year: even living at home you still get £2700.