The Student Room Group

Nagging lower back pain.

Basically in the past few weeks I have been suffering lower back pains on and off. I assume I have got rid of it after a couple of sessions where I am lifting my target weights (BB rows) just fine, but then it comes back the next workout to prohibit my workouts going to plan.

I could only lift 1-2 reps of 75% of my 5RM on Deadlift.

I believe that my routine has been neglecting my lower back and this has led to my hamstrings being overdeveloped in comparison, thus an imbalance. I don't like doing the barbell rows, I always feel like my lower back is struggling to hold the weight (I'm at 85kg 3x5 Row)

I am just wondering if it is just rest I need or do I need a change in routine.

This is my routine, I have been training for 10 months and train 6 days a week. Gains have been consistent and good. :

Push (Chest/Triceps/Shoulders):

Flat Barbell Bench Press: 3x5
Seated (or Standing) Barbell Shoulder/Overhead Press: 3x5
Incline Barbell Bench Press: 3x5
Dumbbell Side Lateral Raise: 3x10-12
Rope Pushdowns (circuit machine): 3x10-12
Overhead Dumbbell Extension or similar triceps exercise: 3x10-12
Shrugs(circuit machine or dumbbells): 3x10-12

Pull (Back/Biceps):

Barbell Rows: 3x5
Lat Pulldowns with (Long Bar or V-bar) (circuit machine): 3x8-10
Seated Rows (circuit machine) - optional if already doing barbell rows: 3x8-10
Face-pulls: 3x-10-12
Barbell Bicep Curls (Alternate between close and normal grip): 4x-10-12
Choice of one other bicep exercise (typically Hammer Curls): 3x10-12

Legs (Quad/Ham/Calves):

Barbell Squats: 4x5-6
Leg Press (optional if already doing above squats): 3x8-10
Leg Extensions (circuit machine): 3x10-12
Hamstring Curls (circuit machine): 3x10-12
Standing Calf Raises (circuit machine): 5x10-12

I usually do L/P/P [REST] LPP
why don't you have your back massaged or like use hot water to have a shower with once you've done your workout?
Take a week off