The Student Room Group

Why do people often fail contract law?

Why do people fail contract law? I see many people in different posts and also in my university have mentioned that they have failed contract.

I am in my first year of university, and contract is my second favourite (criminal is my first) I find it good, besides remembering all the cases, it is 30% cw so I do stress that I will fail the exam, as I do much better in cw than exams, mostly because when I type my mind sets free, also I am a deep thinker when I type. In exams, is different, stress because of the timing which is not flexible, only 2 hours, then I fail ahaha.

Anyways, what is hard about contract law? How do I pass it?

Scroll to see replies

There is a lot more to remember for contract law, there are loads more cases to remember.

With criminal law everything can sort of tie in together where as there are many more things to learn with contract law.

Good luck
At most universities it is extremely rare for someone to actually fail a module.

However, noticed you're studying at BPP and they do have a quite remarkable amount of fails in some modules, it was the same when I was there too. I don't really know why that is, the BPP contract law exam is totally standard, and the marking is not particularly harsh. I think it is because a lot of students there are not actually used to doing any work at all, and go into the exam knowing basically nothing. They have low A-level grades and don't realise that they need to take a step up from that to do well at degree level - even outside the 'top' universities.

If you do the work, keep up with the seminars and tutorials and contribute in class you cannot possibly fail that exam. From my own experience I can tell you that it is perfectly possible to get a First (I got 78 in the contract exam).
(edited 9 years ago)
I failed contract law in my first year. It was by far my worst module although i enjoyed it a lot more than property.