The Student Room Group
Reply 1
Hiya,

I'm applying to do Spanish and Russian (total newbie) at Edinburgh, Sheffield, Birmingham, Nottingham, St Andrews and Cambridge.

I chose these unis by comparing the tables for East European Languages and Iberian Studies in the Times Good University Guide, maybe that would help?

I am really really jealous that you are able to study Russian at A-level. Would you have any advice for someone who has never studied Russian before? Any tips on how to prepare myself for interview or anything?

Thanks! Or...спасибо! :biggrin:
Reply 2
Purple Hazer Blazer
Anyone studying or applying to do russian at uni...Any knowledge about good russian course would be useful. I'm thinking of Edinburgh but i hear Sheffield and Birmingham are good to. i've done A-level russian and i know the majority of students taking it at university start from fresh..Any idea of class sizes as i hear it's a very small department at Edinburgh?

I am!! Russian and Spanish actually but Russian nonetheless.
I applied to UCL, Bristol, Edinburgh, Durham and Nottingham, all of which have good Russian departments from what I have heard. UCL's Russian department particularly is immense, they have so much choice there!
Generally you should have a look around the university websites and see if you can't get onto the departmental websites to see what course modules are available etc.
Also I'm jealous of your Russian A Level too!! I could't do French at school, let alone Russian!
Reply 3
Hey, I do Russian A-level too (Currently in year 12:smile:). I've heard Bristol and Nottingham have great Russian depts and Notts is recommended highly by my teacher (who went there).
Reply 4
no1mohsin
Hey, I do Russian A-level too (Currently in year 12:smile:). I've heard Bristol and Nottingham have great Russian depts and Notts is recommended highly by my teacher (who went there).