The Student Room Group

I graduated, however I am stuck in retail, anyone in this position ?

I graduated with a good degree , from a prestigious university. However I am stuck in retail, where I am constantly undermined by by colleagues and manager. Retail is not really my thing, i've done it for 'survival' money, yet everyday the staff make jibes at me - and its not even friendly banter !! They often let me know I am inept, and make their tasteless jokes, its quite depressing really. I don't really thing I am that bad anyway, I've had good response and feedback from customers - its sad really. I've tried applying for graduate jobs , but as you know it's very competitive and it takes time.

so if anyone has been in this position, is it best to leave my current job, or leave, in both situation I will still be searching for a graduate job that would repay for all the hard work done to attain my degree.
You've obviously done well for yourself in terms of education and you don't deserve that kind of crap from your fellow workers, report them.
Reply 2
Original post by Safiya122
You've obviously done well for yourself in terms of education and you don't deserve that kind of crap from your fellow workers, report them.

It's not just the co-workers, it's the managers as well. Once I asked my manager to speak about the end of my probation period, and the possibility of me signing a permanent contract, he didn't acknowledge that at all - however a staff member who started after me, has already been made permanent. Quite deplorable , really.
Reply 3
What's your degree and result?