The Student Room Group

Doing dentistry after completing medicine, in the UK?

I hope everyone is doing fine here

I recently completed MBBS degree in asia. and have a degree in Physics from Caltech. But now I realise I want a career in dentistry, so I want to study dentistry. however, I will have to stay in the UK, so I was wondering will i be at a disadvantage to UK applicants?

because someone asked why i am hopping to different degrees is because I found out dentistry pays more so I want to do that now

Thank you
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 1
Original post by Safiya122
good luck with it :smile:

thank you and what are you studying?
Reply 2
i'm studying behavioural sciences :smile:

ok and do you think it will be more difficult for me to be accepted for dentistry as I am wanting to go to barts dental school
Original post by esfan22
ok and do you think it will be more difficult for me to be accepted for dentistry as I am wanting to go to barts dental school

I think it could be like I guess it really depends on what sort of education you received there to here..if that makes sense
Reply 4
I think it could be like I guess it really depends on what sort of education you received there to here..if that makes sense

what is considered by the institute?
Original post by esfan22
what is considered by the institute?

sorry, i don't really know. i guess it depends where you apply to
OP, on the actual topic of your questions, as so many have failed to grasp:

You would probably have to apply as a graduate, not an undergraduate, I'm not sure how many universities offer graduate courses so you may have to apply to undergrad. It depends entirely what you got in your degree as well, but I think you should look at the universities you want to go to for their requirements as I'm guessing international students will have a different application process (such as, not doing certain exams etc)
Reply 7