The Student Room Group

Apprenticeship or college & university?

If anyone can help me on this, I would be more than grateful!
I am currently studying As levels at a college. I study Economics, History, Pe and Biology. I haven't had any real mocks or target grades as of yet, but I would say I'm fairly bright. In my GCSE's in 1 A* 5 A's 4 B's and 1 C. I really dislike college, so I've been looking into apprenticeships. I have had serious thought about doing one and I'm not sure what to do. I'm not sure what I want to do in my future, but I originally planned to go university, most likely to study economics. But I have found some apprenticeships that are really tempting and what I might like. I've found one in Business & Administration, one in Marketing and one as an accountant. Should I get my A levels then do an apprenticeship, get my A levels then go uni, or just drop college and go to an apprenticeship? Obviously uni will cost more and i can earn money whilst doing an apprenticeship, but is uni more rewarding, especially in these sort of jobs?
Reply 1
I should also mention that I dislike college! So is it worth going for the apprenticeship, and is it better than college?
I'd say only go uni if you have a good idea about what you want to do and you know it definitely requires a degree. If I didn't want to become an early years teacher I'd have done an apprenticeship in childcare and become a registered childminder rather than go to uni. You seem to have some sort of idea about what field you want to go in. If that field doesn't require a degree or if the particular job you want to do doesn't require a degree then do the apprenticeship. If in some years you find a career that requires a degree then you can always go to uni as long. As you've got at least a level 3 (equivalent to a levels) you'll be fine.