The Student Room Group

Intercalating Animal Behaviour and Welfare at Bristol

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone will be able to help; I am a first yeat vet student at Liverpool and am thinking of intercalating Animal Behaviour and Welfare at Bristol after my second D100 year. I was wondering if anyone could answer some questions? Thank you in advance!

1) Intercalating on ABaW appealed to me partially as it gives you the academic qualifications to become a Certified Clinical Animal Behaviourist. As you need practical experience (as set out on the website (http://asab.nottingham.ac.uk/accred/cert.php), I was wondering if there is encouragement/a support system/database of contacts etc to help students complete the practical experience required to become a CAB in the course (along the lines of EMS support, though I know in ABaW the experience isn't compulsory like EMS), or is it all done independently by the student without university support?

2) I heard there are 2.5 days a week in terms of contact hours, and two days were full days. I was most likely planning on living in Bristol for the year and commuting to Langford on the 121 bus service. What do any of you think about this? A quick check of the bus timetable online shows that the earliest it can get to Langford is 9:30, so I wanted to check this would actually be feasible (i.e. there weren't 9:00 lectures). Also where ddid anyone who intercalated live themselves?

3) Am I correct in thinking that Langford-based students get a free bus pass for the 121?

4) Any general personal experiences of how it's different to the vet degree would be helpful, i.e. contact hours/independent work balance, type of independent work i.e. weekly tests or tasks or note writing or other things?

So yeah, just basically any overview of your experience would be great, and that of any intercalators from other universities?

Thanks everyone! :smile: