The Student Room Group

Gap Year Personal Statement

Delete please
(edited 6 years ago)
Reply 1
Original post by mmms95
Hi, I'm studying Further Maths in my gap year (applying for Maths), and re-applying through UCAS, but I just wanted to ask, do I have to majorly change my personal statement or can I pretty much use most of last year's and just mention what I'm doing in my gap year? Are admission tutors expecting like a detailed version of what I'm doing or just interested to know I'm being productive? (i.e briefly mentioning work placements/what Maths I'm doing)

I was in the same position last year, what I did was add a paragraph about what I was doing in my gap year and also definitely include the part about doing further maths in your gap year. That shows you're keen about maths and it also means you're up to date with it too (since maths is the type of subject where if you stop doing it you'll forget things). But most of your personal statement should be the same from last year. Hope that helps? :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by mmms95
Hi thanks for your reply! I sent off my UCAS already but that's exactly what I did :smile: It's reassuring to know someone was in the same position as me though. If you don't mind me asking, how did you get on last year? Did you get into most/all of your choices?

Aaaah okay, well at least you got it sent off well before the deadline, that's always good!

Yes, I got into all of my choices, I'm now at Manchester doing a BSc in maths (thinking of changing to MMath soon). What's your first choice?
Hey bro! Please help me out! I am in my A2 year and will be taking a gap year from this september, i also want to study further maths in my gap year, AS+A2 further maths. However, my college/sixthform don't do 1 year AS+A2 courses. Do you have a rough idea of how much it would cost me and where i could go study and take the FM exams? What are you doing? If you don't mind me asking that is.

Thanks, hope you can help me!