The Student Room Group

Ib subjects for oxford ppe (maths hl?)

Hi I'm in year 12, and it's my first year of IB.

My subject choices right now are
HL: MATHS
HL: ECONOMICS
HL: PSYCHOLOGY
SL: CHEMISTY
SL: ENGLISH LITERATURE
SL: SPANISH AB INITIO

I just got my first report for IB and all my other subjects were very good, but I got a 4 IN MATHS HL. I really want to study PPE in Oxford and I saw that they say Maths to AS-Level or Standard Level is recommended. I'm confident in getting a 7 for MATHS SL but I'm unsure I'll do well when I stay in Maths HL. Do you think I'll still have a good chance for getting to the interview level for PPE in Oxford if I move to MATHS SL and change my English Literature to HL? Also do you think psychology is a good subject for PPE or do you recommend history?

PLEASE HELP, I've spoken to the HE advisor of our school but I still can't decide or be sure. Please please help me!
Original post by lewoo
Hi I'm in year 12, and it's my first year of IB.

My subject choices right now are
HL: MATHS
HL: ECONOMICS
HL: PSYCHOLOGY
SL: CHEMISTY
SL: ENGLISH LITERATURE
SL: SPANISH AB INITIO

I just got my first report for IB and all my other subjects were very good, but I got a 4 IN MATHS HL. I really want to study PPE in Oxford and I saw that they say Maths to AS-Level or Standard Level is recommended. I'm confident in getting a 7 for MATHS SL but I'm unsure I'll do well when I stay in Maths HL. Do you think I'll still have a good chance for getting to the interview level for PPE in Oxford if I move to MATHS SL and change my English Literature to HL? Also do you think psychology is a good subject for PPE or do you recommend history?

PLEASE HELP, I've spoken to the HE advisor of our school but I still can't decide or be sure. Please please help me!