The Student Room Group

Dropping out of 2nd year, re-doing A-levels and then attempting to get into Oxbridge

Hi

I am very unhappy with my course at the moment. I am currently a 2nd year student, doing Psychology.

I am thinking about dropping out, going to a college, re-doing a-levels (I would want to apply for mathematics but my current subjects in A-levels would not allow for it) and then reapplying with the hopes of getting into Oxbridge.

is this ridiculous? Is it even possible? Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks
Reply 1
You're currently at university? The problem is that you have 4 years of eligible student funding, and you're now in the second year of that. Since degrees take at least 3 years, you'd have to have money to complete another degree. Also I'm not sure if you dropping out now would count as your first degree done according to student finance, since you're already in your second year, meaning you wouldn't be able to get any more funding. You'd have to find out the answers to these before you consider dropping out.

Even then, you'd have to pay money to do A-levels and get in to Oxbridge, which is very difficult. I doubt they'd appreciate you dropping out once either since they only take the best of the best.

That said, if you don't mind perhaps going somewhere other than Oxbridge, like to a RG uni and money isn't an issue, then sure, drop out if you really hate the course.

Why do you hate it though? If it's for any reason other than the course itself then you shouldn't drop out.
Reply 2
Original post by solafid
Hi

I am very unhappy with my course at the moment. I am currently a 2nd year student, doing Psychology.

I am thinking about dropping out, going to a college, re-doing a-levels (I would want to apply for mathematics but my current subjects in A-levels would not allow for it) and then reapplying with the hopes of getting into Oxbridge.

is this ridiculous? Is it even possible? Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks