The Student Room Group

Help needed! Route into clinical psychology

Hi all,

This is my first post, i have read dozens of threads on clinical psychology on this forum and am more stressed and scared now than before iread them.

I will explain my story to you, i graduated in 2008 with 1ST Class in Psychology and then an MSC in Research Methods in Psychology with merit in 2010. After this i wasn't sure what i wanted to do but decided against a pHD as i did not enjoy the subject matter of my masters enough to take to the next level (i researched how the brain reads - in particular responses to emotion words).

I took a call centre job for a while to tide me over and then unfortunately my dad passed away very suddenly and i had to take over the running of the family business as that was the main source of income for my mum and younger brothers. It has now been a number of years and i hate running the business and feel depressed at a waste of my academic ability.

So i've now started to look to what i can do and am at the very initial stages and looking at clinical psychology. Unfortunately, i didn't get any work experience while at uni so i have nothing, looking at forum posts on this website and a number of others people seem to have masses of experience which is scaring the hell out of me!

It seems to get a job as an asst psychologist is difficult enough as you'll need experience before getting that so can anyone point me in the right direction as to how i should begin? I take it i'll need some voluntary work but where to start?

Any help appreciated.
Hey, sorry to see you haven't had any replies to your thread yet. :frown: Are you sure you’ve posted in the right place? Posting in the specific university or course forum should help get more responses. :redface: