The Student Room Group

King's College London to be renamed King's London?

Just logged onto my school email (I'm a student at KCL) and received an email that said, long story short, that King's College London is going to be "relabelled" King's London. Don't think I'm too crazy about the new name, but am curious as to what other people think, regardless of whether you're from King's or not? Do you think it would make much of a difference?
(edited 9 years ago)
Sounds less prestigious

Posted from TSR Mobile
Sounds a bit weird to me, if someone said to me "I go to King's London" I'd be thinking "King's what though? King's School? King's College? King's Pub?"
Reply 3
So I'm not the only one who thinks it's really weird. Personally I think it's pretty unnecessary, too - and apparently the school is spending 300k on this endeavor. Nice knowing where all those loans/savings are going..
Why? King's College is their brand name, I would understand it if they were detaching from UoL and calling themselves King's University or just King's College, but removing the College part seems like a bad idea.
Stupid....
Reply 6
Evident of how universities love wasting money.

They should be spending it on student experience/facilities instead.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 7
Sounds about as odd as "University London". Wonder how many millions the rebranding is going to cost?
Trinity College Dublin has been undergoing an image change recently, it came under fire in April when a new logo was proposed - it took the ancient shield and turned it into something that you would do using clip art! A newer update was published yesterday, much closer to the old logo but using blue and white instead of the traditional blue and yellow - I think that this one will stick.