The Student Room Group

Retaking A Levels - is it worth it?

I'm currently in my second year of a non-law degree (Ancient History) at the University of Reading. When I finish I plan to do a GDL and the LPC. However, during my A level exams I was on codeine for various reasons which obviously affected my performance and ended up getting BBC.

I'm worried that even though I'm on track for a high 2:1, I won't be able to get sponsorship or a training contract. I'm looking mainly at regional firms such as burges salmon as I don't think i'll get a place at city firms. Is it worth, or for that matter possible, to retake an A level to make myself more attractive to law firms?
Thanks.
Original post by JoeyVinten
I'm currently in my second year of a non-law degree (Ancient History) at the University of Reading. When I finish I plan to do a GDL and the LPC. However, during my A level exams I was on codeine for various reasons which obviously affected my performance and ended up getting BBC.

I'm worried that even though I'm on track for a high 2:1, I won't be able to get sponsorship or a training contract. I'm looking mainly at regional firms such as burges salmon as I don't think i'll get a place at city firms. Is it worth, or for that matter possible, to retake an A level to make myself more attractive to law firms?
Thanks.

Hi

Well, they often ask you to list all your exam grades anyway and specifically ask if you have re-sat exams so you would have to declare all your A level resits anyway. Firms do have boxes for you to put mitigating circs into - would you say your circs add up to mitigating?

I have to be honest - I don't think the regional thing will make any difference at the big firm level - things are very competitive and loads of grads have excellent A level grades.