The Student Room Group

Should I use my student overdraft?

Okay I know this sounds stupid, but all my friends have a PS4 and I really really want one but I cant afford it!

Would it be safe to use an overdraft to buy it? I have an overdraft of like £1500 and I haven't touched it at all yet, wasn't planning on it really but I'm really tempted to buy this PS4!

I'm in 1st year, so If I am right I don't have to pay any overdraft debt off until like graduation or something like that?

I'm from N.I and I am studying in England, I'm planning on transferring home for second year though just to save money and be at home with my family and stuff so my loan won't be going on rent or anything.. which means I can just use a small portion of it to cover how much I've taken from the overdraft? Plus I'll be working all summer in my summer job and I'll probably earn over 1000 doing that too, which would also pay off the part of the overdraft I have used.. I mean I am not going to use all £1500 of it, it will probably be like around £400 quid or something and I'm pretty sure that will be easy to pay off between my work money over the summer and loan money that I wouldn't be spending on accommodation next year as I would be at home?

Thanks for the advice in advance!:biggrin:
Reply 1
You could, but for a PS4?

Just wait until you have the money, dude.

Don't buy anything you can't afford immediately. Best practice, most logical.
Do an overall budget of your in goings and out goings for the rest of the year and see whether by the end of the year you would still be in your overdraft if you bought the PS4 now.

I have a full budget worked up which I tweak with often to see whether I can afford to buy something I want by looking at the end of year figure.