The Student Room Group

PGCE first placement struggle.

I am a trainee primary school teacher placed in ks1 who has just finished the first placement.

I have never been so stressed in my life!

On my first day, went to the school feeling really nervous, and the very first thing my class teacher said to me was that she didn't want a student this year but the school were making her have one. Made me feel very welcome! Not!
From there things went down hill fast. I was not allowed to teach. My first observation came around- the class teacher begrudgingly agreed to let me teach the starter and plenary for it. Morning of the observation came- an hour before my mentor was meant to turn up- and the class teacher told me that she had decided I had to teach the whole lesson. I had no resources, no powerpoint- nothing. I was not prepared at all. So I pretty much failed the observation- even after explaining to my mentor what had happened. Big knock to my confidence.

After 4 weeks I still had not taught any lessons- apart from the one lesson for my observation- and I was getting very frustrated.

The class teacher then asked me to do a weekly plan for maths for the next week for both year 1 classes (I hadn't even planned one lesson at this point) and, of course, the plan I spent all weekend struggling over, was not acceptable when I sent it to her on the Sunday afternoon.

For me, that was the last straw. I had been trying to be professional and keep going, as I assumed the class teacher knew what she was doing and how she was meant to be training me. I emailed my mentor and told her everything. She immediately talked to the school and got me moved to a different class.

The new class is lovely, for the last two weeks of the placement, and my new class teacher is very helpful and supportive.