The Student Room Group

Help with finding universities for media production

I'm currently in my first year of college and am hoping to get a place on a media production course at university. From what I've found online Lincoln seems like a good first choice but I'm really not sure where else to apply to. I live about 90 minutes from Lincoln.
Hey, sorry to see you haven't had any replies to your thread yet. :frown: Are you sure you’ve posted in the right place? Posting in the specific university or course forum should help get more responses. :redface:

If you haven’t already found it, then university connect is a really useful way for finding people at your course/university! You can also find a list of applicant threads and courses here. :h: It's worth checking out if you have questions.

If you need advice on your academic work, then the Study Help section will be able to help you. :h: Hope this helps! :h:
Original post by BillyBrooks
I'm currently in my first year of college and am hoping to get a place on a media production course at university. From what I've found online Lincoln seems like a good first choice but I'm really not sure where else to apply to. I live about 90 minutes from Lincoln.

Do some searches on Unistats and Which? University, they'll give you information on courses available and you can compare them. Also search websites and YouTube for student work, it tells you a lot about the sort of people you'll be working with. Then once you've shortlisted some universities, visit them. However even visiting doesn't give you the full picture until you're actually studying there.

I am a TV Production student at Bournemouth University, we also do have a Media Production course. I applied for Lincoln for Media Production but I declined the offer. On open day both students and staff kept repeating that Bournemouth and Birmingham are the better institutions, then they just kept comparing themselves to Bournemouth. It was really annoying to be honest.