The Student Room Group

Want to do masters - no references?

Hi there

I graduated a few years ago, I wanted to do a masters but had no money and for various reasons had to go right out to work. only now do I have enough money to do the masters I want to do and the stability of life etc.

I have a 1st class degree with congratulatory award in Law. I work in a vaguely related area of Law and have several years experience.

I have done one post grad professional qualification, but they were the cram course with home study, only pass/fail and my tutors didn't really know me personally.

I am looking to do an LLM in Jurispridence or related area, or an MA in Canon Law. ( my interest is in the overlap of canon law and civil laws, and also philosophy of laws)

I have no references for my masters application because by last degree was a few years ago, and probably my tutors who knew me have left.

I don't want to ask my employer because they are funny about people doing study otside of work, thinking they want to leave, plus it is for personal interest not for work progression and my employer is likely to sabotage me by piling on the work to make me fail.

How can I get around the requirement for references?

Do any places accept pre-reading plus a sample of work instead?

It is possible (although more difficult) that I can get a few pieces published before applying, instead of a reference.

Surely there must be people doing masters in my situation with no references? What do they do? Can you suggest something?

Also how much harder is an MA / LLM than undergrad
Reply 1
In your shoes, I'd approach your target uni, explain your situation and ask them what they would prefer as a reference. I doubt you can bypass the requirement completely but they should be used to dealing with people who don't want to approach their employer for a reference for the reasons you give.