The Student Room Group

IB subjects to take for medicine??!

What should I take for higher and standard level to study medicine at university?

What are the best combinations?
Which are the most popular?

Posted from TSR Mobile
I would take a guess at Chemistry, Maths and Biology being the logical choices for higher level.
Reply 2
Original post by SirMasterKey
I would take a guess at Chemistry, Maths and Biology being the logical choices for higher level.

Thanks .do I have to do maths at higher level to study medicine?

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4
Original post by SirMasterKey

Thank you so much :biggrin:!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by diana99
Thanks .do I have to do maths at higher level to study medicine?

Posted from TSR Mobile

From looking at the page I just gave, no but my guess is that it would certainly help in the long run.

Although I have no experience of studying the IB, nor of medicine so am not really the best placed to answer.
Hi i'm currently in the IB and looking to do medicine :smile:

I take -
HL: Chemistry, Biology and Geography.
SL: Spanish, English and Maths

I wouldn't say that HL maths is required at all, many of my older friends who haven't taken HL maths have gotten into top universities such as Cambridge, Oxford, Imperial and Kings for Medicine so it most definitely isn't required. If you truly like the subject (hence why you're taking it at HL and devoting a lot of your time into studying it) then take it! If you're just taking it to make your application 'look good' then I'd suggest not as it could potentially pull your grades down, as it's one of the hardest subjects to score a 7 on.
Hi,

I just applied for medicine and got two interviews. At HL I took bio, chem and econ and at SL I took spanish ab initio, maths and English lit.