The Student Room Group

Former IB analyst helping students get into IB

Hi All,

I'm a former Investment Banking intern, grad and analyst. I quit my job at the end of last year to take a little break (I earned it).

While I'm away, I'll be tweaking an IB learning bundle I've put together. I'd love some feedback on whether you think that's a concept people would go for at your universities. It's basically a basic financial modelling course that teaches lots of key concepts as you build it.

I helped assess applications for internship positions while I was at my ex-employer. I was fascinated to see what the decision process was like after all the time I spent in your shoes when I was applying! I'd be more than happy to give feedback on the sorts of thing you're including on your CVs / competency based assessments if you'd like.

Look forward to hearing from you!

Cheers
What fascinated you about the decision process? I think everyone would appreciate it if you could demystify the process a bit :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
It was fascinating because I myself used to trawl through forums like TSR trying to find out what it was like, what the criteria for selection were, and how to stand out!

There were a few structured questions that we had to ask the candidates. The rest was pretty much flexible to discuss things on each candidate's CV, and it really struck me how similarly excellent most of those were. It really is tough to stand out.

More often than not, the ones who went through had done just one or two thoughtful things to show they had gone the extra mile. Things like sports, societies etc. are all very well, but everyone has those. The candidates needed something a bit extra than that on the day so the chat actually went somewhere, which I'm sure you knew already.

You probably want some examples...