The Student Room Group

BVC - unusual one!

I graduated with a first and won a major Inns scholarship. I got flattened by depression during BVC some 4 years ago. I managed to complete the course with 80% (high 'very competent') after deferring exams and travelling back to the provider to sit them. I haven't been called. I was ill afterwards for years. My Inn hasn't been on to me at all about what happened.

I am not sure what my position is. Yes I know I should get in touch. I don't want to come across as selfish and will contribute all I can, but I am no longer attached to a career at the bar if it can no longer be. Life has moved on and stable employment is my main goal.

The only contact I've had with the legal profession is an employability (disability) scheme with an MC firm. That was 2 years ago. They paid for me to go to London.

I don't want negative comments. Is the BVC going to become worthless? I used to get interviews at top sets. Has any one even done it twice. It's just I've seen people in their mid 40s doing BPTC at weekends whilst working in academia and having a very 'late' start. I think I would rather that.
(edited 9 years ago)
Original post by Keane1982
I graduated with a first and won a major Inns scholarship. I got flattened by depression during BVC some 4 years ago. I managed to complete the course with 80% (high 'very competent') after deferring exams and travelling back to the provider to sit them. I haven't been called. I was ill afterwards for years. My Inn hasn't been on to me at all about what happened.

I am not sure what my position is. Yes I know I should get in touch. I don't want to come across as selfish and will contribute all I can, but I am no longer attached to a career at the bar if it can no longer be. Life has moved on and stable employment is my main goal.

The only contact I've had with the legal profession is an employability (disability) scheme with an MC firm. That was 2 years ago. They paid for me to go to London.